Ultimate Guide For The ISO 27000 Series

Vector Representation of The Ultimate Guide to the ISO 27000 Series
Everything you need to know about the ISO 27000 Series

On average, a cyber attack can cost an organization around $8.64 million. Dealing with sensitive information and data exposes an organization to the possibility of cyber-attacks and their associated risks. This is where ISO 27000 comes in - this standard helps you earn your customer's trust in terms of data security.

To protect your organization with the help of the ISO 27000 series, you will first need to have adequate knowledge about it. This article will discuss the ISO 27000 standard and its different types in detail.

ISO 27000 standard is a set of guidelines to certify an organization's information security policies. So let's get started to understand the requirements of beginners for ISO 27001 compliance.

What is ISO 27000?

The ISO 27000 series is published by a collective effort of the International Organization for Standardization (IOS) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

These standards are aimed to improve Information Technology security in organizations by helping them build a robust information security management system.

The Information Security Management System aims to eliminate risk across the three essential pillars of information security: people, processes, and technology. ISO 27000 series comprises 46 individual standards that aid organizations in securing their corporate data through the ISMS.

Out of these 46 standards, ISO 27001 is the only mandatory standard for organizations, whereas other standards of this compliance family depend on your organizational requirements. An ISO 27000 certificate is one of the best ways of showing your competency in safeguarding your customers' data.

Introduction to ISMS

Information security management system (ISMS) is the core concept of ISO 27000 standards. This system comprises a set of processes an organization performs for data security.

The primary function of the ISMS is to protect information assets from unauthorized access, eliminate risk, and ensure seamless data availability. ISMS is not just a combination of hardware and software but includes workflows, plans, policies, and an organization's culture.

What are the different ISO 27000 standards?

As mentioned before, ISO 27001 is the mandatory standard for certification. However, there are other 11 separate standards that are optional to organizations depending on their respective requirements. Here's a brief explanation of each standard and its elements.

ISO 27001

ISO 27001 is a standard that outlines the security techniques required to safeguard customer data properly. It acts as a bridge to fuse principles with real-world requirements. Organizations worldwide implement all the requirements of ISO 27000 standards and further perform verification of their information security management system effectiveness with the help of an ISO 27001 audit.

According to the list of requirements of ISO 27001 standard, an information security management system must have the following:

  • Support of senior leadership

  • Clearly documented forms

  • It should be capable of eliminating risks

  • It should have the resources required to function

  • It should be regularly updated and reviewed

You can also refer to ISO 27001 controls for the list of 114 specific controls that organizations need to meet certification requirements.

ISO 27002

ISO 27002 expands on the controls specified in ISO 27001's Annex A. While Annex A offers a brief overview of each control, ISO 27002 goes into further detail. It is useful as the organization under ISO 27001 audit is required to meet relevant controls only. So, for instance, if you are an organization with no remote employees, there is no requirement to implement controls on exposing company computers to public places.

ISO 27003

This standard provides general guidance required to build an information security management system. It is also an excellent resource for the pre-audit phase, where organizations can utilize it to determine if any requirements are left to meet ISO 27001 compliance.

ISO 27004

ISO 27004 aids in providing suggestions for different ways the organization can monitor and evaluate its information security management system. It also helps organizations determine which controls from ISO 27002 are useful for audit preparation.

ISO 27005

ISO 27005 is a code of practice for managing information security risks. Risk forecasting, analysis, and mitigation are critical for ISO 27001 certification. Hence, it is important to learn this one thoroughly. Sections under this standard address risk assessment, risk acceptance, risk avoidance, and risk response monitoring throughout time.

ISO 27006

ISO 27006 includes a set of standards that determine whether a firm is qualified to perform ISO 27001 audits or not. This series does not apply to your organization unless your firm is directly related to compliance audits.

ISO 27007 and ISO 27008

Both of these information security standards were introduced in 2011 and revised in 2020. ISO 27007 and ISO 27008 expand on ISO 27006 by supplying recommendations for recognized companies conducting ISMS audits. It's a good idea to check these standards before compliance, as they will offer an idea of what your auditor will look at while evaluating your ISMS.

ISO 27017 and ISO 27018

ISO 27017 and ISO 27018 information security standards were developed in 2014 with the beginning of cloud services. If your organization utilizes cloud infrastructure as a part of the business process, these standards are mandatory for your organization's 27000 certifications.

ISO 27033

ISO 27033 deals with network security and includes several controls to secure an organization's internal network. It includes controls that are specified for providing network security to an organization.

ISO 27034

This series focuses on the data structure of application security controls and your assurance prediction architecture.

ISO 27035

This standard deals with information security incident management and includes your organization's response plan for security incidents. In simpler words, it questions how your organization will ensure business continuity in case of a data breach. Every organization should map out communication plans and responsibilities in case of any security incident.

ISO 27701

This is one of the newest ISO standards, with a primary focus on privacy. ISO 27701 was created to respond to the European Union strengthening GDPR and mandating organizations to follow requirements to secure users' privacy.

ISO 27701 explains the measures essential to maintain the privacy of a customer. It proposes developing and implementing a privacy information management system and an information security management system.

Closing Thoughts

ISO 27001 certification is essential to develop trust towards your organization in the customer mindset. All the above standards are not mandatory to get ISO certification. However, they are still functioning and beneficial to organizations in understanding the requirements for information security.

You can go through this article to comprehensively understand how to get ISO certification. It will walk you through the entire certification process and provide you with the dos and don'ts of ISO certification.

Scrut Automation is a smart and radically simple Governance, Risk, and Compliance automation platform for growing startups and mid-market enterprises. With Scrut, Compliance teams can reduce ~70% of their manual effort in continuously maintaining compliance towards SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, PCI DSS, and privacy laws like HIPAA, GDPR, and CCPA. Schedule your demo today to see how it works.